Site Content



Every Scout must first earn the Bobcat patch before starting on their Den Rank requirements. When a child becomes a Cub Scout, his or her Den Leader and parent(s) teach the scout seven Bobcat requirements:

  • Learn and say the Cub Scout motto, the Cub Scout Promise, and the Law of the Pack and tell what they mean
  • Show the Cub Scout sign, salute, and handshake and tell what they mean
  • Show that you understand and believe that it is important to be honest and trustworthy

Kindergarten - Lion

Lion Scouts is a fun introduction to the scouting program for Kindergarten age youth eager to get going!  Lions do adventures with their adult partners and other Lions every month.  This program introduces youth and their families to scouting and the outdoors as it builds a foundation of character.

First Graders - Tiger Cub Scout

To begin the path to the Tiger Cub rank, the Tiger Cub (age 7) must learn the Cub Scout promise, the Cub Scout sign, and the Cub Scout salute. When the Scout has learned these, he/she gets the Tiger Cub emblem, which is a tiger paw with four strings for beads. The Scout wears the emblem on their right pocket. As the scout finishes each part of the five Tiger Cub achievements, he/she earns an orange bead (for den activities), a white bead (for family activities), or a black bead (for "Go See Its"). When the Scout has earned five beads of each color, he/she can receive his Tiger Cub badge. The Tiger Cub badge is given to the Scout's adult partner at a pack meeting. Then, during a grand ceremony, the adult gives the badge to the Scout. 

Second Graders - Wolf Cub Scout

The Wolf rank is for Scouts who have finished first grade (or who are 8 years old). To earn the Wolf badge, the Scout must pass 12 achievements. His/her parent or guardian approves each achievement by signing their book. When the Scout has met all requirements, the Wolf badge is presented to his/her parent or guardian at the next pack meeting. During an impressive ceremony, the parent or guardian then presents the badge to the Scout.

After the Scout has earned the Wolf badge, a Wolf Cub Scout can work on the 23 Wolf electives until he/she finishes second grade (or turns 9 years old). The Scout can choose from more than 100 elective projects that may show him/her new hobbies and teach skills that will be useful during the Scouting years. When the Scout completes 10 elective projects, he/she earns a Gold Arrow Point to wear under the Wolf badge. For every 10 elective projects after that, he/she earns a Silver Arrow Point.

Third Graders - Bear Cub Scout

The Bear rank is for Scouts who have finished second grade (or are 9 years old). There are 24 Bear achievements in four groups. A Scout must complete 12 of the achievements to be a Bear Cub Scout. These requirements are harder and more challenging than those for the Wolf badge. When a Scout has earned his/her Bear badge, the Scout may work on electives to earn Arrow Points to wear under his/her Bear badge. 

Fourth and Fifth Graders - Webelos Scout

 Webelos dens are for Scouts who have completed third grade (or reached age 10). The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program. Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys/girls in the pack do. Webelos Scouts get to work on the 20 Webelos activity badges: 

Physical Skills

Outdoor Activity

Mental Skills


Family Member


Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their weekly den meetings. Once a Scout learns a skill, he/she practices it at den meetings and at home on his/her own. The Scout's family helps at home. Webelos Scouts bring the projects they do at home to the den meetings to show others, and to have the Webelos den leader approve their projects.  

When a Scout has done the requirements for an activity badge, the Webelos den leader or activity badge counselor, rather than a parent, approves most of the activity badges. It takes three activity badges, including Fitness and Citizen, to earn the Webelos badge. Besides earning activity badges, Webelos Scouts can earn the compass points emblem. This emblem is awarded after a Webelos Scout has earned seven activity badges. For each four activity badges a Webelos Scout earns after that, he receives a compass point—east, west, north, and south. 

Arrow of Light

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award. Earning this rank prepares a Webelos Scout to become a Scout. Webelos Scouts who have earned the Arrow of Light Award have also completed all requirements for the Scout badge. 

This award is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Scout uniform when a boy/girl graduates into a troop. Adult leaders who earned the Arrow of Light Award when they were young may also show their achievement by wearing a special square knot on their adult uniform.